Human Rights Lab

Human Rights Lab inaugural cohort of students. Photo by Sylvanna Falcón.

Launched in Fall 2019, the Human Rights Investigations Lab is dedicated to offering digital verification support to non-governmental organizations, news outlets, and other advocacy partners that are conducting open source investigations. Housed in the Research Center for the Americas (RCA) at UC Santa Cruz, this lab harnesses digital technologies to address and confront human rights violations. The lab’s mission is to extend the RCA’s commitment to “Dialogues without Borders” into the digital realm. The lab’s social justice mission is to track and monitor ongoing humanitarian, environmental and socio-political crises throughout the Americas by using open source investigative methods to promote justice and achieve accountability for communities adversely affected by human rights violations.  This lab continues the RCA’s rich history of supporting interdisciplinary social justice research by faculty and students since 1992.  For more information about the lab, please email

The Human Rights Investigations Lab has received funding from the Institute for Social Transformation, Graduate Division, Arts Division, Film and Digital Media, and The Humanities Institute.

The cohort of student researchers reflect a wide range of fields and disciplines including, but not limited to, Latin American and Latino Studies, Politics, Film and Digital Media, Critical Race and Ethnic Studies, Environmental Science, Feminist Studies, Philosophy, Spanish Studies, and Legal Studies.

We would like to acknowledge the many people who have helped support the launch of the lab from UC Berkeley and UC Santa Cruz. Thanks goes to the following supporters: 

Human Rights Center at UC Berkeley
Alexa Koenig, Andrea Lampros, Félim McMahon, Shakiba Mashayekhi, Leenah Bassouni, and Stephanie Croft.

UC Santa Cruz:
Kristy Golubiewski-Davis, Daniel Story, and the staff of the Digital Scholarship Commons, Irena Polic, Saskia Dunkell, Ruby Rich, Jennifer Taylor,
Stephanie Moore, Jeffrey Erbig, and Fernando Leiva.

See Also